UNDERSTANDING ARTERIAL BIOMECHANICS WITH ULTRASOUND



James F. Greenleaf jfg@mayo.edu

Department of Physiology and Biomedical Engineering Mayo Clinic 200 First Street SW Rochester, Minnesota 55905, USA



For author bios, please go to acousticstoday.org/bios-19-1-5

SOUND PERSPECTIVES

Recent Acoustical Society of America Awards and Prizes

Acoustics Today is pleased to present the names of the recipients of the various awards and prizes given out by the Acoustical Society of America. After the recipients are approved by the Executive Council of the Society at each semiannual meeting, their names are published in the next issue of *Acoustics Today*.

Congratulations to the following recipients of Acoustical Society of America medals, awards, prizes, and fellowships, who will be formally recognized at the Spring 2023 Plenary Session. For more information on the accolades, please see <u>acousticstoday.org/asa-awards</u>, <u>acousticalsociety.org/prizes</u>, and <u>acousticstoday.org/fellowships</u>.

Gold Medal

Mark F. Hamilton (University of Texas at Austin) for contributions to theoretical nonlinear acoustics and education and for service to and leadership of the Society

Helmholtz-Rayleigh Interdisciplinary Silver Medal in Biomedical Acoustics and Physical Acoustics

Vera Khokhlova (University of Washington, Seattle, and M. V. Lomonosov Moscow State University, Moscow, Russia) for contributions to the application of nonlinear acoustics to medical ultrasound

Medwin Prize in Acoustical Oceanography

David Barclay

(Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada) for contributions to the fundamental understanding of ocean ambient sound

R. Bruce Lindsay Award

Julianna Simon

(Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania) for contributions to the understanding of ultrasound-induced mechanical bioeffects and their clinical applications

Hartmann Prize in Auditory Neuroscience Bertrand Delgutte (Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts) Congratulations also to the following members who were elected Fellows in the Acoustical Society of America in Spring 2023.

• Kevin Haworth

(College of Medicine, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio) for contributions to the development of passive cavitation imaging and therapeutic ultrasound methods

- Tracianne Neilsen

 (Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah) for applications of machine learning to inverse problems in ocean acoustics
- Bogdan Popa (University of Michigan, Ann Arbor) for contributions to active acoustic metamaterials
- Sarah Verhulst (Ghent University, Zwijnaarde, Belguim) for

contributions to computational modeling of the normal and impaired auditory system

• Robert White (Tufts University, Medford, Massachusetts) for advancement in the field of acoustic microelectromechanical systems